Technically, any liquid intended for drinking is a beverage so named by a word derived from French and Latin verbs meaning ‘to drink.’ Healthy beverages are beverages with health benefits that attribute by its nutritional value. The use of healthy beverage for promoting health and relieving symptom is as old as the practice of medicine.

Sunday, April 10, 2016

Vegan wine

Although wine usually contains only grapes yeast and a small amount of sulfites, which are added and created during fermentation, the processing of one introduces small amounts of substances which may be of concern to vegetarians and vegans.

Winemakers – both organic and nonorganic – often use animal-based products in the fining process to classify the wine. The fining agents act as magnets to attract the unwanted material, then fall to the bottom of the tank.

The clear wine is siphoned off, but trace amounts of the fining agent may linger in the finished wine. Not all wine is vegan, there are animal products and by-products used in the filtering and manufacturing process of some varieties.

Wines suitable for vegans use earth-based fining agents such as bentonite clay, diatomaceous earth, carbon and kaolin. A simpler solution to finding a vegan-friendly wine is to look for ‘unfined’ wines. 
Vegan wine

Top articles this week

Food Processing RSS

DBR - Process Technology News

Science of Nutrition RSS